Matariki Network of Universities - The Name

Matariki” is the Māori name for the group of stars known as the Pleiades star cluster, and also known as the Seven Sisters. Similarly, there are seven founding member universities in the MNU. “Matariki” is also the word for the Māori New Year, which marks the rise of Matariki and the sighting of the new moon. The seven members of MNU are each distinguished by their historic traditions, but also by their approach to facing contemporary challenges.

For Māori, “Matariki” has come to mean a celebration of the unique place in which we reside, and the giving of respect for the land on which we live. The seven founding members of MNU are each significant contributors to the city or town in which they are based, and value the ‘town-gown’ relationship.